Silver Linings

It’s been 5 years now since my two experiences as an au pair in Western Australia. It’s a mixed bag of good and bad memories, but in the end, it’s led me to where I am today, so I can say that it was worth it.

As awful as the car accident of the boys’ mom was, it brought her home to her family where all of us, including me, needed her. She had no major wounds, but she did hurt her back badly, so was bed-ridden for the following days. The dad had a new occupation of caring for his wife, which kept him busy and I felt much safer.

This accident had happened when my time with the family was nearing its end. The boys and I started preparing for our eventual good-bye and made a time capsule that wouldn’t be opened for 10 years. It’s hard to believe that half of that time has already passed. By the next time I update this blog, they’ll be opening it!

I don’t remember all that we put into that time capsule, but I do remember writing each of the boys a letter telling them what they meant to me. I vaguely remember that the letter to the older boy, then 12 years old, was a lot nicer than the one I wrote to his younger brother who was 4. I hope that my tone isn’t too different between the two letters.

The morning of the day of my flight back to New York, despite all the tears, disappointment, and failures, I was filled with a sense of accomplishment and gratitude to have crossed paths with these two families in Australia. Still, I was obviously eager to get out of there and go home. I will always remember the slightly bashful way that the older boy told me he’ll visit me one day in New York. I really hope we do reconnect one day.

The whole family came with me to the airport. Up until the last second, it was awkward with the dad, but I hope that he’s doing well and has fought off some of his demons. I headed out of the winter days of Aveley to summer time in NYC.

Your thoughts here